#### **GRADUATE COUNCIL MINUTES**

Thursday, May 8, 2025 - CMCT 241

PRESENT: Ngan Chau, Bree Dority, Brooke Envick, Janet Graham, Mary Harner, Angela Hollman,

Torsten Homberger, Miechelle McKelvey, Whitney Schneider-Cline, Christopher Strickland, Erin Sweeney, Doug Tillman, Michelle Warren, Laurinda Weisse, Melissa

Wuellner, Chloe Dakan, Linda Johnson, Megan Adkins, Mark Ellis

**ABSENT:** Austin Nuxoll, Elizabeth Neukirch

I. Approval of the April 10, 2025, Minutes – approved via email.

#### II. Graduate Dean's Report

Dean Ellis welcomed everyone to the meeting and thanked them for taking time to attend.

A. Approval of 2025 Spring Graduates

Unanimous approval of the updated slate of spring graduates (Chris Strickland/ Michelle Warren). Motion carried

B. Research Day Results

Thank you to everyone who participated in this year's Student Research Day. We appreciate the strong involvement from students, faculty, and staff, and we're already preparing for next year's event.

As part of the celebration, several awards were presented:

- Graduate Faculty Mentor of the Year was awarded to Dr. Mary Harner in recognition of her outstanding mentorship and support of graduate research.
- Graduate Student of the Year Awards were presented differently this year, with one overall university award and one recipient from each college.
  - o Overall UNK Graduate Student of the Year: Kristen Wetovick, Teacher Education
  - o College of Arts and Sciences (CAS): Kattie Sadd, Communication
  - o College of Business and Technology (CBT): Chloe Dakan
  - o College of Education (COE): Jared Owen, Communication Disorders

Congratulations to all recipients and thank you to everyone who helped make Research Day a success!

C. Graduate Council Election Results

<u>B&T</u> – Ngan Chau was reelected

COE – Naheed Abdulfrahim replacing Whitney Schneider Cline

CAS – Christopher Strickland was reelected, and Sharon Campbell replaces Austin Nuxoll

Whitney Schneider Cline will replace Brook Envick on Executive Grad Council.

2 Graduate Students who will be taking over as Student Representatives for Graduate Council Emily Conrad – MBA

Mariana Paredes – Public History

#### D. UNK Carpenter Fellowship Fund

This perpetual scholarship award will provide seven \$2000 renewable scholarships beginning this fall. An announcement will be coming and then departments will be able to nominate students.

## **III. Committee Reports**

## A. Policy & Planning Committee

A revised thesis submission guide was submitted for review by the council for inclusion in the 2025–2026 academic catalog. The updated guide aligns with the latest ProQuest requirements. The most significant change is the submission process:

- Students will now be required to submit their thesis to the university's institutional repository.
- Submission to ProQuest will be optional.

This policy change was reviewed and approved. (Sweeney/Wuellner) – Motion carried.

## B. Academic Programs Committee -

Sweeney expressed appreciation to everyone who has contributed to the cleanup of the P courses. There are still a few courses under review, and work is ongoing to finalize those, but appreciates the time and effort to move the process forward and thanks everyone for their continued support and collaboration.

Linda Johnson informed the council of verbiage changes that the Nebraska Department of Education is making to Initial Certification plan names. These changes include:

- Social Science 7-12 is now Social Studies 6-12
- o Middle Level Social Science is now Middle Level Social Studies (no grade level change)
- The following endorsements change from grades 7-12 to 6-12:
  - English Language Arts
  - Geography
  - History
  - Political Science
  - Psychology
  - Secondary English
  - Sociology
  - Social Studies (was Social Science)

## C. Faculty & Student Affairs Committee

Committee III recently met and made decisions regarding the Reichenbach Scholarships.

# IV. Other Business

Motion by Michelle Warren to adjourn the meeting.